I have HEART!

One of my first real career positions, I had the pleasure to work with a very talented and highly intelligent entrepreneur. During my first ever performance review he told me that the reason why I was so valuable to his company was because I had heart. Like most young people, this wasn’t exactly what I was hoping to hear in a performance review. He went on to explain, beyond the standard sports usage of having heart, I had H-E-A-R-T.

This is what he explained to me:

  • Humble
    • Self-Aware but not full of ones self.
  • Effective
    • Get it done. Take action. Enough said.
  • Adaptable
    • Flexibility makes you stronger in tough weather. Those who bend will not break.
  • Remarkable
    • That little extra something that sets you above others.
  • Transparent
    • Honest and forthright in all the right ways.

I hadn’t thought about this for years, until I came across this post on LinkedIn – http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article/20130424215359-658789-5-hiring-mistakes-that-can-crush-your-company-s-culture. It reminded me of the things that have continually made me valuable and what sets me apart from others.

Over the years not all of these traits have been viewed as being benefits. Being transparent for example has gotten me in hot water with executive management before, but in those situations they ultimately agreed that it was the right thing to do, as the trust it fostered opened for much greater opportunities. It takes a remarkable amount of courage to stand in front of a CEO and tell them why you think they are wrong.  I like to think that even if I wasn’t right in that situation, that the caliber of the CEO would have respected me for being honest.
(Please note that all these things matter in how you approach them. This was not an example of being contradictory, but supportive of the companies ethics and mission. I was doing what was best for everyone including the company, it just took some explaining for executive management to see the benefits.)

I find myself looking back on those I have worked with and I know without a doubt that the best experiences were due to HEART!

UPDATE :

I came across the following article this week and thought it fit well into this post. I think this is a perfect example of what it means to be Effective.

http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article/20130429160018-5935179-the-heart-of-leadership

~ by Josh on April 25, 2013.

One Response to “I have HEART!”

  1. […] you cannot remove the Human Factor from the equation.  The human factor is what gives purpose and HEART to any project. We can never forget that the purpose of any system is make things better for those […]

Leave a Reply

 
